Why I started coding, again.

At the moment I am learning to write C, for the second time. The first time didn’t go so well, as my compiler kept on stopping, and I just didn’t really feel like I was making much progress. So instead I learned HTML, CSS and a tiny bit of Javascript, and now I think I am fairly competent at HTML and CSS but I still wanted to be able to write an actual programming language as both HTML and CSS are pretty easy once you understand the basic rules.

I also have recently started learning Javascript at code academy because I only knew very little of it before. Admittedly I was a little bit sceptical of how good code academy was going to be, because  I first started learning HTML on a website like that, and it took me a bit too long to learn it because I had questions that weren’t answered on the page and when I tried googiling them I couldn’t find the answer because I didn’t have the right words to describe my question. But it turns out that code academy is great it goes at the right pace, and it explains all of the functions perfectly, so to anyone thinking of using Code academy to learn to code I would definitely recommend it and I think that if I learned HTML there then I would of learned it twice as quick.

But why do I actually want to learn to write C and Javascript, well I suppose I always have had a fascination with computers from when I was about 6 and I made powerpoints  just to use Powerpoint because as nerdy as it may sound I loved powerpoint (Now I hate it but that’s a story for another time). So now carrying on the nerdy trend I decided to learn C because programming is fun! 

But if you don’t have a natural interest in computers then why would you want to learn to code, there is one big reason for this programming jobs generally pay pretty well and there are a quite a few jobs in the programming sector as it is growing significantly, by 30% from 2010 to 2020 in America, that’s compared to 18% for computer technicians and the average growth of each job sector is 14% in the U.S.

So it looks like programming is quite a good thing to learn.

Source: http://mashable.com/2012/09/20/need-a-job-youd-better-learn-to-code/

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

